Busting Boredom

Today went better than I anticipated after my difficult run this morning.

I tried to do my usual 2 mile loop twice (second time with Blue), running for 1 mile then .7+ on the second loop… However, after the first mile my legs turned to mush.  I walked it off and tried to run my second set, but about halfway through I couldn’t do it.  My legs were heavy and I just wasn’t feeling it.  It was SUPER hot out already (80 degrees at 9:00?!!) and I was dehydrated from yesterday so I decided to just do a steady walk through the rest of the 4 miles.  According to my Runner app on my droid incredible I burned 665 calories and walked/ran 4.36 miles in 1 hour and 12 minutes.  I did however do really well on my mile run, I ran it in 10:47 (thanks to my Endomundo app that I started right as I started running.)

Pre run I had two slices of marathon bread with Maranatha Raw Almond butter. (not pictured.  sorry!)

About an hour later I started to get hungry so I decided a small bowl of Kashi GoLean Crunch was in order, with a bit of almond milk.

It definitely hit the spot.  Then I desperately needed a shower.  And it felt awesome.  I relaxed for a bit then did some cleaning.  Before I knew it it was lunch time and I was starving!

The boyfriend and I decided that lunch at Rathskeller was in order… Eaten at the bar to save time.I got the Vegetarian Sandwich: a grilled portabella mushroom, tomato, onion, olive paste, swiss cheese and creamy cilantro sauce on foccacia bread, and OH MY!  It was delicious… but HUGE!  I got it with a side salad with tomato vinaigrette (amazing!).

I promptly boxed up the other half of the sandwich because it was huge.  But the leafy green salad was delish as was the sandwich, the olive paste MADE it.  Although I think it would be even better with grilled zucchini as well, and a bigger mushroom.

It was filling but still light.  I was completely satisfied.  Then I went home and started watching Teen Mom on demand… Then I discovered a wonderful thing… EXERCISE TV ON DEMAND.  Yes, you heard that right.  Tons (probably over 100) of FREE workouts on demand.  Talk about a way to bust boredom… WORKOUT!  I chose to do Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred (level 1) and BOY did it kick my butt.  I could barely make it through and had to stop more than once to rest my muscles.  Cardio wise I did surprisingly well.  While I worked out, Blue slept.

He was WORN OUT from our walk, he slept most of the day.  Around 4:00 I got hungry, so I munched on come Celery with Sabra Spinach & Artichoke Hummus (amazing!).  The piece of celery with hummus on it already was Roasted Pine Nut hummus.  I wanted to see which one I liked better. Spinach & Artichoke won.  By a landslide.

I didn’t need all of that hummus, but I saved the rest for my dinner… which was long overdo, I don’t know why I haven’t put this together sooner.  I had left over Scalloped Tomatoes, so I scooped out as much as I could of the scalloped tomatoes (without getting the croutons) while I toasted 2 slices of marathon bread.  I then spread the remaining spinach & artichoke hummus on the marathon bread, then piled on the tomatoes!  It was to die for!  I served it with a side of Greek Vegetable Salad from HEB deli.  The pictures don’t even do it justice!

The flavors of the two dishes didn’t really work together, but they were each good enough on their own that it worked for me.  But now I am super full.  It’s time to lay back and relax, watch some more Teen Mom (it’s my guilty pleasure) and then shower and go to bed.  Work in the morning, and I’m not looking forward to it.

About Jillian @ Reshape Your Life

I'm 24, and reshaping my life, one day at a time. Becoming an adult and learning how to take care of ME. I live in the heart of the Texas Hill Country with my boyfriend, our deaf dog Blue, and our two cats Stoli and Tuaca. I've recently taken up running and adopting healthier eating habits. Follow me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busting Boredom

  1. Mireya says:

    That sandwich looks delicious!!

  2. Pingback: Ridiculous Soreness! « Reshape Your Life

Leave a Reply

