New Food

This journey was a very slow start…  I started with just walking Blue two miles a few times a week.  Then I decided to start “running”.  I started running one stop sign to the next, at first I could only run two-three stop signs without needing to stop.  Slowly I added in more and more, and then I stopped counting stop signs and tracking mileage.  Now, this hasn’t been a quick thing for me.  I’ve taken my time (and then some) because going from nearly completely INACTIVE to active can be really hard on your body (especially when you have notoriously bad knees and weak ankles).  So here I am almost two months later and I can run a mile without wanting to die, and I usually walk another 3 miles around 4 days a week, sometimes I throw in another 1/2-3/4 of a mile in there to really kick things up.

For my “diet” (this isn’t a diet it’s a lifestyle change but bear with me), I have opened up my taste buds to a whole new REALM of possibilities!  I have cut back my meat consumption to maybe once or twice a week, and it’s usually chicken or deli ham (not the best but I love a ham sandwich from time to time).  I have nearly doubled (maybe even tripled) my fruit and veggie intake, started cooking more things from scratch and eating more greens.  I have cut out 90% of dairy.  Cheese is my downfall… but I just found a lactose free cheese that I love, I just have to eat it in moderation.  I switched to Earth Balance instead of margarine and have cut back CONSIDERABLY on drinking (and when I do I switched to vodka tonics instead of copious amounts of beer). Cutting back on drinking has been the hard part for me, and not because I’m a big drinker… I’m not.  But the boyfriend owns a bar so hanging out with him involves a lot of being AT the bar… and when in Rome.  But I’m working on it.

So here are some of the thing I’ve been eating:

Whole Grain Blueberry and Banana Pancakes with Mashed banana and syrup topping.

Ham Sandwich with lettuce and tomatoes on the side.  I believe there was also some american cheese on this one.

Vegan Overnight Oats Cherry Bomb Parfait.  Pure Heaven!!

Packed breakfast for work.  Mango and Blueberries topped with Bear Naked Granola. And water. 🙂

Organic Roasted Red Pepper Soup with Tandoori Naan and Red Pepper Hummus.  With a failed attempt at garlic bread.

Couscous with homemade spicy tomato sauce, served with zucchini, squash and onions with asparagus.

Watermelon and Blueberries

Green Monster!!

I have also eaten in restaurants and gotten veggie burgers or portobello mushroom burgers with salads instead of fries, Fajitas at mexican restaurants with only a little chicken.  And last night I tried a veggie enchilada with spinach and mushroom, it was delish!

I’m going to try to start posting my meals daily.  On the menu today is a greek vegetable salad maybe with a sundried tomato and basil veggie burger topped with some leftover scalloped tomatoes…  or maybe leftover Amy’s spinach and artichoke pizza.  Only time will tell.

About Jillian @ Reshape Your Life

I'm 24, and reshaping my life, one day at a time. Becoming an adult and learning how to take care of ME. I live in the heart of the Texas Hill Country with my boyfriend, our deaf dog Blue, and our two cats Stoli and Tuaca. I've recently taken up running and adopting healthier eating habits. Follow me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

