Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Before I get to the Stuffed peppers that I had for dinner…  Today was a boring day at work and it took FOREVER.  But I did start it with some of the best VOO that I’ve ever made.

It was a variation of Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Vegan Overnight Oats, except I added some cacao nibs, subtracted the banana (I was out) and fooled with the amounts of cinnamon and raisins, I also didn’t have any walnuts… And I mixed the syrup in last night when I prepared it. But basically the same concept. 😉

It was heavenly!

The raisins plumped a bit overnight and were so juicy!  yum!

For lunch I had left over Amy’s Organic Spinach Pizza served with a side of steamed brussel sprouts because I felt like they were needed.

The pizza was delicious the first time, and just as good the second time.  I steamed the (frozen) brussel sprouts then tossed them in a drizzle of olive oil and sea salt.  They were a fabulous addition.

Now, to get to my dinner….  Quinoa Stuffed Peppers.  Now, I had no recipe when I made this and I have a light hand when it comes to seasoning.  I have also never made Quinoa. So this was a bit of an adventure.

But lets see here, to start you need:

I tried to make this as quick and easy as a prep as possible because I was hungry and The Boy needed to eat before work… So I had (from left to right) 1 1/2 cups of diced red,green, and yellow peppers, 1 1/2 cups of diced white onions, three red peppers, one zucchini, one can of tomato sauce, and 1 lb of champagne sweet tomatoes.

First you need to start cooking your Quinoa according to the box directions, then you need to core your red peppers (for stuffing).

And place them in a baking dish.  Then slice the zucchini however you prefer and put them into a pan with the diced peppers and onions (I didn’t use all of what I had, I eyeballed it so it was all even).

Drizzle a little olive oil into the pan and sautee them until they are ALMOST cooked. Don’t worry they will soften up when they bake.  You can now preheat your oven to 325 degrees.

While the veggies are sauteeing, I poured the tomatoes into my food processor with a little bit of minced garlic, pepper, sea salt, and a tablespoon of sugar.  Pulsed for about 5 seconds.  Then I poured that into my sauteeing veggies.

Then add your finished Quinoa (once again I eyeballed it so everything looked like it had equal parts).

Then stuff yo’ peppa’s!

Be careful not to spill like I did.  You’ll have extra filling so just fill that in around your peppers.

Then I covered it in foil and put it in the oven for 35 minutes.

While I waited I went for a run.  I came back with just 2 minutes to spare, I was sweaty and hungry and food was READY!

Unveiling:


*Note: I poured some left over diced tomatoes in italian seasoning on top
My Plate:
That was a medium sized plate, and I could only eat half of the insides before I wasn’t hungry any more.
Now, this was really bland, and it probably could have baked longer, the pepper was a little firm still.  If I were to make it again I would probably skip using the fresh tomatoes and use canned (GASP) diced tomatoes in italian seasoning.  I’m no good with spices and seasoning so canned works for me.  You can also top it with Mozzarella cheese, I chose not to this time because I had no idea how it would turn out.  It wasn’t bad though and I will play with the recipe a bit to make it better.
(I’m not sure why everything is now in Italics and I can’t seem to get it off… but bear with me)
As for my run, I ran almost 1.5 miles and walked a little over 1/2 a mile.  In under 30 minutes and according to my Runner droid app I burned about 250 calories.  I felt really good and strong until the last set of stop signs.  But it was probably one of my strongest runs to date.  I can’t wait until I can run two miles without stopping!
Seeing as I don’t have a normal job (I’ll talk about the job situation tomorrow) I have to work tomorrow so it is into the shower and off to bed for me!
When you first started working out/running/being healthier, what were your first goals?  What motivated you?
About Jillian @ Reshape Your Life

I'm 24, and reshaping my life, one day at a time. Becoming an adult and learning how to take care of ME. I live in the heart of the Texas Hill Country with my boyfriend, our deaf dog Blue, and our two cats Stoli and Tuaca. I've recently taken up running and adopting healthier eating habits. Follow me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

  1. Pingback: All Is Well — Oh She Glows

  2. Pingback: Oh Dreary Day… | Reshape Your Life

Leave a Reply

