Cocktails & Tacos!!

Well can I just tell you that I had an AMAZING time last night?!  No really.  The boat ride turned out to be a bust (couldn’t get a boat) which worked anyway since the boy and I decided to run some errands while we were in Austin and we ended up being strapped for time.  I was getting very nervous (social situations make me really anxious) so the boy and I stopped at California Pizza Kitchen and had a shot (vodka tonic with cranberry).  Then I quickly changed in the car and was off!

**Note:  I was too lame to take pictures, so I’m borrowing them from others! See the credit after the photo to be directed to the original blogger’s page!

However I got to Lustre Pearl right on time and right as Jenna was pulling up!

Borrowed from Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen

Lustre Pearl is just the cutest little backyard bar I’ve ever seen.  It is literally an old house with a backyard.  The bartender was awesome and kept the boy entertained while I did my thing.

Borrowed from Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen

Borrowed from Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen

The crowd came shortly after we got there but I did get a few minutes to chat with Jenna (and Adam) one on one.  The boy and Adam (Almanzo) talked about Texas and people they know (they grew up not too far from each other).  It is crazy how BIG Texas is but there are always strange connections.

Jenna is so incredibly sweet (just as her blog reflects) we chatted and greeted the other women as they came in  before I knew it there were probably 20 people there!

Borrowed from Jenna @ Eat Live Run

I had two small vodka tonics (with a splash of cranberry) then decided that water was needed on such a hot evening.

Borrowed from Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen

I met Sarah and Cara (pictured with Jenna), who are the sweetest girls!

They really made me feel comfortable (thanks ladies!!)  Puppies were allowed at Lustre Pearl!!

Borrowed from Jenna @ Eat Live Run

Grab bags were distributed.

And a group picture was taken.

Borrowed from Jenna @ Eat Live Run

I had to be a fan for a minute and get my picture taken with Jenna

(It was hot, we were sweaty.  Don’t judge. ;))

More talking ensued, friendships were started, then it was almost 8 O’clock!  And the boy and I still had an hour drive so we had to get on the road.  I gave everyone a quick goodbye and thanked Jenna for such an awesome time.

Borrowed from Jenna @ Eat Live Run

I am so glad that I actually went and stepped out of my comfort zone.  Everyone was so supportive of me getting healthier and starting to run, and they made me feel SO comfortable in my own skin.  I cannot thank you ladies enough.

I also need to thank The Boy for being so supportive as well and for sitting back and letting me spread my wings on my own, but being there if I needed him!  He is really an amazing guy and I am so lucky.  🙂

I can’t wait to hang out with all of you Austin ladies again!!

Check out The Smart KitchenEat Live Run and I Don’t Believe In Diets for more recaps!

About Jillian @ Reshape Your Life

I'm 24, and reshaping my life, one day at a time. Becoming an adult and learning how to take care of ME. I live in the heart of the Texas Hill Country with my boyfriend, our deaf dog Blue, and our two cats Stoli and Tuaca. I've recently taken up running and adopting healthier eating habits. Follow me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cocktails & Tacos!!

  1. Jodi says:

    Yay! Jill!! I’m so proud of you for going!!! I’m proud of you for doing something you wouldn’t normally do. I love throwing this saying around because IT’S SO TRUE…but the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. You have now stepped out of the box.

    for which you should be proud.

    Love you!!! Can’t wait to see you guys in a few weeks!

  2. Cara says:

    As I said yesterday, it was great meeting you! I love your recap. I was also incredibly nervous before I showed up. Definitely a step out of my comfort zone! hahah. At least it all worked out, and we will both be braver next time. 🙂

  3. I had a great time meeting and chatting with you last night at Lustre Pearl! Looking forward to reading more of your posts. Take care, Amy at gourmetmemoirs.com

Leave a Reply

