Oh Dreary Day…

Today is one of those dreary dark and gloomy days… Yesterday however was a pretty awesome day.  So lets dwell on that shall we?

I had loose plans to work for my Traveling Groom client (did I mention that my business has a name?!).  So I couldn’t sleep anymore woke up after a night of tossing and turning at an early 6:30 AM.  Blue and I hung out and waited for the call about when I needed to go to the farm… Which happened at about 8:00… So I quickly threw on some work clothes and grabbed a quick bite to eat… Which ended up being leftovers from my lunch the day before (which I forgot to mention with all the excitement of Cocktails & Tacos!)

Leftovers were half of a Mean Green Veggie Burger from Zingers Bar & Grill in Bee Cave.

A wheat bun with a little ketchup, lettuce, tomato, sauteed onions and a veggie patty.  Wednesday it was kind of boring, however as a leftover the flavors seemed perfect… Or maybe it was because it was morning?  Either way it hit the spot.

I went to work at the farm and had an AMAZING time… I mean really, I get paid to do things I would gladly do for free because I like it.  Dream job?  I think so.  I got to ride and work a couple of the horses, hose them down and groom them.  The ride was awesome, and I am SO glad I’ve been running, I wasn’t at all winded and my legs held up well!  I also got to work with some yearlings working on basic handling and getting them used to standing while being groomed.

The weather was hot but it didn’t matter.  I was happy.  4 hours flew by and I barely noticed.  Before we knew it the afternoon sun was beating down on us and it was time to call a quits.  I trudged home soaked from sweat and water and covered in mud… I was happy. 🙂

I drank what seemed like a gallon of water and decided it was most definitely time for lunch.  And I knew exactly what I wanted…  Spinachoke Quesa-PitasSarah had told me that if I loved Spinach & Artichoke dip then I definitely needed to try her recipe, so I did and BOY was it good!  I modified it slightly (I used even lower fat/fat free cheeses) so here is what I did…

1 Package of frozen Spinach (I used whole leaf and used the whole package) and 1 Package of Artichoke Quarters (I only used 2 cups worth)

Then I collected my ingredients:  Fat Free Ricotta Cheese, Diced Sweet Onions, Low Fat (1%) Cottage Cheese, Fat Free Cream Cheese, and Reduced Fat Feta, (not pictured was 2 cloves of minced Garlic.

**Try not to mind my oh so 60’s yellow/orange counters, our kitchen is a work in progress.

I sauteed 1 cup of onions

With 1 teaspoon of minced chopped garlic (pre-packaged 1/2 tsp=1 clove)

Then I defrosted 2 Cups of Artichoke Quarters in the microwave

And added the package of frozen spinach to my onions and garlic…

Then I chopped the now mostly defrosted Artichoke Quarters then added them to the mix.

I then combined 1/4 cup of Ricotta, 1/4 cup of cream cheese and 1/4 cup of Cottage cheese in the food processor until smooth.

Then add 1/4 cup of Feta and pulse until blended.

Here is where I really got to improvising… You see, I THOUGHT I had pitas, apparently I had grabbed Greek Pita Flats the other day…  Which are NOT pitas, they are flat bread, I have no idea why it says Pita on the package.  But I digress.

So I decided to try and cut it in half as good as I could, which didn’t work…  I mixed 1/4 cup of the cheese mixture with 1 cup of the Spinachoke mix. I kept the rest of the spinach mix and cheese separate to use later.

Mmmm!!  I then put the mixture on top of my hacked up Flat, then decided to throw a full Flat on top for good measure.

Then bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes until it is crispy and gooey!

It was so good, although I forgot the “add salt and pepper to taste” part of Sarah’s recipe.  Which would have made it even better.  I am very excited to have the leftovers for dinner tonight!

See The Smart Kitchen for the original recipe!

After I ate I blogged Yesterday’s post and then went with The Boy for a trip to WalMart and picked up a few goodies…

Source

Which I am totally going to do, I’ll announce when I start and I will take before and after pictures! 🙂

I also got Post-it’s for Operation Beautiful notes!

The Boy got some supplies for the bar and attempted to get a copy of a key made… However the people at Walmart couldn’t do it after 4 tries and a few trips to check if the key would work… We decided to try a different place.  They got it on the first try.  DOH!

Before I knew it it was 7:00 and I was starting to get hungry.

Luckily a new Mexican joint opened up (because really this town needs more Mexican restaurants…) so we decided to try it.  I am not a huge fan of Mexican cuisine to be honest, but apparently in Texas that isn’t an option.  Especially in this small town where we have German food galore and about 8?!? Mexican restaurants.  Did I mention the population here is only about 10,000.

ANYWAY, we tried out La Hacienda which just popped up right next to one of the other (more commercial) Mexican restaurants. I wasn’t expecting much to be completely honest.  Since I don’t love Mexican I didn’t expect this place to blow my mind…

But one look at the menu and I was in love!

A Vegetarian Menu?!  Vegetarians having more than 1 option in a restaurant in this town is VERY rare.  Not that I’m a vegetarian but any time there is a vegetarian option I get it.

However there was something even more exciting on another page… VEGETARIAN FAJITAS!

Dismiss their spelling error, and read what is actually served with their fajitas…

Rice, beans, lettuce, guacamole, sour cream, pico de gallo with flour or corn tortillas.  The fajitas themselves are cooked tomatoes, onions,  bell peppers and mushrooms!

I should note that the last “fajitas” I got at another place were merely a ton of chicken a few slices of green bell peppers and a little onion… So the fact that there were way more veggies in the mix made me instantly happy.

Chips and salsa were devoured.  Then my food came, and like the bad blogger I am, only cell phone pictures are here to show the yummy-ness…

That is with one tortilla full taken out… there was easily enough for 4 fajitas!

One tortilla with a bed of rice, and lettuce (with a tiny bit of guacamole and pico)

I ate two of those and admitted defeat. I forgot to picture my plate of rice, beans and guacamole salad… but it looked typical.

I wrapped up the rest and made myself a nice to-go box for lunch today!

We then went and rented Valentines Day to watch and called it a night.

Valentines Day was cute, but a little predictable.  But aren’t most romantic comedies? 🙂  It was a good fun movie.

Now as for today… I woke up STARVING which never happens so I decided to appease my appetite with a piece of wheat bread and organic peanut butter.

I knew eating my overnight oats at 7 wouldn’t hold me over until lunch time… So  the snack was perfect.

I went into work at 8, cleaned and got ready for the day and then at 9:30 it was breakfast time. 🙂

Oatmeal Raisin Cookie Overnight Oats oh how I love thee.  🙂

Yesterday I was on cloud nine and the sun was shining.  Everything felt right.  I was doing everything I was supposed to at the right time.  It was magical.

Today is dreary and cloudy and rainy and I’m working the last few days at my old job.  Lets hope it turns out ok.

About Jillian @ Reshape Your Life

I'm 24, and reshaping my life, one day at a time. Becoming an adult and learning how to take care of ME. I live in the heart of the Texas Hill Country with my boyfriend, our deaf dog Blue, and our two cats Stoli and Tuaca. I've recently taken up running and adopting healthier eating habits. Follow me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Dreary Day…

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you liked the Spinachoke-ness. No worries about not having a pita. I’ve actually used the mixture to make pizza before…oh man that is delicious as well. 🙂

    Also I am jealous of your overnight oats!

  2. It would have been good as a pizza on a flat… Or I could just eat it with a spoon. lol

    Overnight oats are my favorite. Have you ever had them? I like to make mine into a parfait, but I never have the time or frozen fruit. lol

Leave a Reply

