Running Shoes

My Mexican fajita leftovers were AMAZING for lunch yesterday.

The leftover guacamole salad was limp and soggy, so after the picture I ended up throwing it out.  Dinner was my leftover Spinachoke mix as a Pita Pizza with some salt sprinkled on top.  It was quite yummy.

I also ate my two cookies from Jenna’s Cocktails & Tacos grab bag.  They. Were. Heaven!  The perfect mix of savory and sweet and crunch and chewy.  I drank them with a small glass of unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk.  I was a little disappointed about the almond milk, I’ve never had the Vanilla and I picked it up by accident, it smells like vanilla but I can’t seem to taste any vanilla.  Weird.

It was off to work early again today (and tomorrow and Monday and Tuesday… ugh) so I packed a quick breakfast of Kashi GoLean Crunch cereal with almond milk.

And what I believe is a Pluot that I picked up from HEB yesterday.

Running Shoes…

So a couple weeks ago I bought my first pair of running shoes…  I bought a pair of Asics Gel Cumulus 12’s without really knowing much about what I wanted/needed in a running shoe.  I tried them out in the store, ran around a bit, did some comparisons and felt that they were the most comfortable.

Well, I got a little too excited about my new running shoes and increased my mileage a little too fast in NEW shoes AND didn’t stretch well afterwards and I believe I have gotten the start of shin splints.

So I was looking up some causes and ways to “treat” them and I looked into if my shoes were actually what I needed for my foot.

At first I deduced that I have high arches that underpronate (meaning they don’t move that much) so I needed cushion to help absorb some of the impact and a “neutral” shoe for gait.  But then I looked at one site that said look at your old shoes to see what your doing…

Here are my old “running” shoes… Ok, they are actually just sneakers from Walmart but I used them to run for the first couple months…

See that right shoe?  That’s the leg with the shin splints.  That shoe has obvious more wear and tear to the INSIDE of the heel.  If you underpronate you will not get wear like this the wear should be mostly on the outside of the shoe.  And then the left shoe is a little worn on the OUTSIDE.  Weird huh?

I took a picture of my new shoes to see if they showed any signs of this yet:

Notice how the right shoe seems to lean in more?  Weird huh?

This made me think of all of the times I have worn out my flip flops (that I wear constantly year round)… My right foot would have the inside heel wear and inside toe area…

So this leads me to believe (and I am NO expert) that I overpronate with my right foot and my left foot is pretty normal.  Which I find odd, but no person is created equal, so I guess feet can’t be the same either.

Luckily after a little research about my new shoes I found that my shoes ARE good for what I need, but with my high instep I need a little more arch support than what is built in, so I’ve purchased two kinds of arch supports to try out in a couple days (lets let my shins splints heal a little).  We’ll see how this goes!

Until then lots of stretching is in order.  I’m pretty sore after my ride the other day my back, hamstrings, inner thigh and bum are quite mad at me!  Doh!

*EDIT:  I just wanted to share that for the first time my blog had over 100 views yesterday!  (188 to be exact… but who’s counting?)  I have Angela at OhSheGlows to thank for that!

Did you research running shoes before you bought them?  What shoes do YOU run in?

About Jillian @ Reshape Your Life

I'm 24, and reshaping my life, one day at a time. Becoming an adult and learning how to take care of ME. I live in the heart of the Texas Hill Country with my boyfriend, our deaf dog Blue, and our two cats Stoli and Tuaca. I've recently taken up running and adopting healthier eating habits. Follow me on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Running Shoes

  1. Maybe I should look into researching more about how I run. I use Sketchers shape-ups because I have an extra bone in my foot, on the outer side, and these shoes keep that bone from jostling out of place while I jog. Allergies have been hindering my jogging, though.

  2. Fajitas make wonderful leftovers!

  3. I go to running shoe stores where they watch you walk and run and then suggest what kind of shoe to get! The ones near me are called Fleet Feet and Front Runner. There might be some near you when you need a new pair, but I’m sure you got a great pair of shoes 🙂

    I run in Brooks right now!

    • I don’t have any of those near me, but I would LOVE to get a running evaluation. I’ll have to look into it though.

      I tried on the brooks they just seemed too rigid. But maybe that’s what running shoes are supposed to feel like? lol

  4. Amy says:

    Try RunTex in Austin next time you’re in town.

Leave a Reply

